Driver Education FAQ's
38 Hour Course
What is the process for my teen to get a learners permit?
In order to get a learners permit in the State of Louisiana, the 15,16,17 year olds will need our 38 hour course, 30 hours classroom and 8 hours behind the wheel training. We have these classes year round, You can look under upcoming sessions to see all of the available dates. Temporary Instruction Permit required prior to first class.
When are the parents meeting?
Every first Monday, except when it falls on are around a holiday, we will have a morning and and afternoon Parents Meeting:
at our Baton Rouge Office.
What is a TIP?
Effective September 4, 2018 a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) is required prior to first day of class. This TIP is issued only by the State of Louisiana, Office of Motor Vehicles.
You must take student to OMV with the following documents:
Social Security Card
School Enrollment Form from High School
One custodial parent with Drivers License
This TIP is mandatory prior to first day of class!
What documents do I need to attend class?
If you are age 15, 16, or 17, you will need to following documentation to attend class:
- State issued Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) to take DE only
- Legal custodial parent with drivers license or Identification Card
- Enrollment form from high school. (We don't need this until they go to OMV for TIP and learners permit.)
- Birth Certificate
If you are over 18 years of age:
Birth certificate or passport/visa/green card
After completing classroom and returning for a road skill test you will need to provide these documents again
When can I start ?
It's simple. Go to register now and pick your class. Everything can be done on this web site - register for class, schedule drive times and road skill test.
If you need help, shoot me an email.
Why don't you answer the phone ?
Driving school business is a small and seasonal business. Just because we don't answer the phone does not mean we are not there. During peak times all instructors are busy teaching behind the wheel, road skill test, and classroom, all while one person is waiting on walk-in customers or on the phone with customers.
The best and most effective way to communicate is via email, which can be answered and a return phone call made to spend more time with our customers.
We strive to make every effort to return phone calls and emails in a timely matter. If you leave a voice message on the phone, make sure you can receive one when we return your call.
If somehow your message did not get a response, please send a gentle reminder, and I will call you back ASAP.
How long does it take to complete the course?
It will vary with each student. During the summer months when teens are out of school, from start to finish takes approximately 4 weeks. If a teen takes a class mid July or August, school goes back into session, and time is longer because of limited availability. If a teen takes class over holiday breaks, it takes longer.
If a teen is unavailable because of extra curricular activities, they usually take longer.
Adults, if available, can generally drive within a month depending on demand and availability.
Drivers education is a seasonal business; during peak months driving times take longer to complete.
If we have a class with 35 students, multiply that by 8, it equals 280 hours of drive time.
Stop N Go Driving Academy has never taken more students than we are able to drive in a reasonable amount of time. The law actually states that all driving must be completed within 120 days.
What are the steps after completing drivers education?
Our students will receive a sealed envelope with everything they need to take to Office of Motor Vehicles. On the envelope we have printed the documents needed.
So upon completion you will take your teen under the age of 18 any express office or OMV to get learners permit restriction changed.
After student gets their permit that allows them to drive with adult supervision, they will need to log a minimum 50 hours of drive time - 10 hours of night time driving.
The more drive time the more experienced they should be before driving solo. Remember, new drivers take approximately 5 years to become average drivers.
While driving with new drivers remember, they do not see everything an experienced driver sees. You are in the passenger seat as an extension of them to make sure they are alert to hazards ahead.
After they complete the learners permit stage, you must make an appointment for a road skill test. You must be at least 16 years of age to take the Road Skill Test.
There is a $50 fee for our students and $70 fee for other students.
I don't like to call it pass/fail; I like to call it ready to drive by themself or not ready to drive without supervision.
How much is the 38 hour course?
The 38 hour course consists of 30 hours classroom and 8 hours of behind the wheel training. The fee is $585.
A student must pre-register for this class prior to class starting date.
The class is mandatory by the State of Louisiana for all teens applying for a driver's license.
How much is 14 hour course?
The 14 hour course is for students over the age of 18 that want to obtain a driver's license. The classroom is held every Saturday for 6 hours. The OMV written test is given the day of class. The student must pass with 80%. The 8 hours of behind the wheel training is scheduled after completing classroom. The fee for this is $545.
When can my teen begin driver education classes?
Students may begin taking classroom hours at the age of 14 and 9 months but may not drive until they have reached their 15 birthday. In order to start DE a student must obtain a Temporary Instrustional Permit (TIP).
The TIP is issued at the Office of Motor Vehicle, the student will need a custodial parent with birth certificate, social security card and Student Enrollment form from High School.
Planning is essential because in order to get a driver's license at age 16, the student must complete drivers education and maintain a learners permit for a minimum 180 days or reach their 16th birthday.
Lucy Ann takes driver education near her 15th birthday. She can't get a drivers license until she turns 16 although she can take the road skill test prior to 16th birthday. Then on her 16th birthday she can obtain a driver's license.
Lillian Ann took drivers education just prior to her 16th birthday; she will have to keep a learners permit until the she has completed the 180 days. She can take her road skill test before the 180 day point. If mom wants Lillian Ann to keep her learners permit longer, that is also an option.
No student under the age of 18 can get a driver's license or learners permit without custodial parents.
What do I need to take a road test?
All students planning to take a road skill test must pre-register for an appointed time and date. If the student is under 18 years of age, they will need a learners permit or proof that they attended another driving school, one custodial parent with drivers license, and the student enrollment form from their high school office.
Adults will need proof of 14 hour course completion and birth certificate or passport/visa/green card.
The fee is $50 for Stop N Go Driving Academy students and $70 for other students.
I am over 18. What documents do I need?
Certificate of Completion from Stop 'N' Go Driving Academy and proper ID
What is your refund policy?
Refunds are not provided. The student can change class dates or driving times. If Stop N Go Driving is willing and able to drive a student, we will not issue a refund. A deposit is to secure a spot in classroom or driving times and is non-refundable.
Which class do I need for a traffic violation ?
Stop N Go Driving Academy is state and court certified to do defensive driving classes. We have this class every second Saturday morning except around holidays. The class begins at 9:00 AM and dismisses around 1:00. A certificate of completion will be issued that day. It is your responsibility to get the certificate to the appropriate court system. The fee for this class is $50.
Behind the Wheel
Why do I have to take the 8 hours of behind the wheel, if I already know how to drive?
Unfortunately, the State of Louisiana assumes that all first time applicants need to learn how to drive and some do. The law requires that all first time applicants over 18 take a 14 hour course. This course is a six hours classroom and eight hours of behind the wheel training. So driving is mandatory under Louisiana law.
How long are Behind the Wheel appointments?
For teens all driving sessions are 2 hours in duration. Adults that already know how to drive can schedule 4 hour sessions provided we have availability.
Why do I have a no show fee?
A no show fee is automatically added to your account if you do not cancel drive times in a specific time frame. This fee is added because we need at least 24 hours notice, excluding Sunday, to be able to notify instructors of changes in driving schedules. If instructors don't get enough advance warning and we can't fill the open spot, it creates problems that can't be corrected without notification of cancellation.
It is the student's responsibility to cancel well in advance so that another student has the opportunity to drive.