Driver's Education Courses
|Louisiana law requires fifteen- and
sixteen-year-olds to take an approved driver's education course
consisting of thirty hours classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the
(You may take classroom 90 days prior to age fifteen, you must be fifteen to do behind the wheel)
Under the graduated licensing program, fifteen- and sixteen-year-olds must drive with a licensed sibling
18 or older or any driver age 21 or older during the learner's permit phase.
After this phase, the applicant may take the driving test, either at our main office on Florida Blvd. for a nominal charge, or at the Department of Motor Vehicles office. This allows the intermediate license. During this phase, the applicant may drive alone but still carries a curfew restriction, i.e., may not drive between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM, until reaching the age of seventeen.
The fee for the 38 hour course is $525.00.
There is a $100.00 deposit required to reserve a seat in the classroom.